Angelic Light: Music from Eastern Cathedrals

Angelic Light: Music from Eastern Cathedrals
Angelic Light: Music from Eastern Cathedrals
Item# anlimufreaca

Product Description

Cappella Romana

The vocal ensemble Cappella Romana was founded in 1991 by Professor Alexander Lingas, a Fellow of the University of Oxford's European Humanities Research Centre and a Lecturer of Music at City University in London. Professor Lingas has received Fulbright and Onassis grants for musical studies with Lycourgos Angelopoulos and a British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellowship held at St Peter's College, Oxford. He has also held a postdoctoral fellowship from the Canadian government for theological study under Metropolitan Kallistos (Ware) of Diokleia.

The ensemble is based in Portland, Oregon and has been a leading voice in the performance of Byzantine chants and contemporary works derivative of the Byzantine traditions. By focusing on a blend of Slavic and Byzantine music, the chorus has been in the forefront of introducing this music to the Western World. They have released 12 albums since 2000, including their most recent The Byzantine Tradition, recorded live in the 6th-century Church of 100 Doors on the Island of Paros in Greece. Cappella Romana has created cds in conjunction with The Getty Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Royal Academy of Arts Exhibition.

Cappella Romana tours consistently, performing at prestigious venues such as University of Limerick and the Byzantine Studies Center of the Queen's University in Belfast, the Grottaferrata Monastery near Rome, Queen Elizabeth Hall, St. Paul's Cathedral, the Greek Orthodox Cathedral of St. Sophia, London, at the International Congress of Byzantine Choirs in Palermo, Sicily and recently at the Festival of Sacred Music of Patmos, Greece. In the U.S., they have performed at Brown, Princeton, Indiana, Stanford and Yale Universities and venues as diverse as the Getty Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art for the exhibition in 2004 Byzantium: Faith and Power 1261-1557; the Indiana Early Music Festival, the Early Music Society of the Islands (Victoria, BC, Canada).

Cappella Romana's CDs span the great works of Byzantine music: from The Akáthistos Hymn by Ivan Moody to Lay Aside All Earthly Cares, music by Fr. Sergei Glagolev to The Byzantine Divine Liturgy in English in Byzantine Chan, the ensemble has shown a brilliant aesthetic in the music they choose to record. This CD is meant to provide an intelligent survey of their Orthodox and Byzantine work.


  • 1 As Many Of You As Have Been Baptized 3:11
  • 2 O Great And Most Sacred Pascha 1:37
  • 3 Cherubic Hymn (In English Mode, Plagal IV) 3:59
  • 4 Communion Verse For Sundays 3:23
  • 5 Cherubic Hymn 5:40
  • 6 Great Entrance And Communion Hymn For Holy Thursday (Mode Plagal IV) 3:02
  • 7 Communion Verse For Sundays (Mode Plagal I) 4:29
  • 8 Now The Powers Of Heaven 3:38
  • 9 Cherubic Hymn (Special Melody: The Thief Beheld) 4:14
  • 10 Let All Mortal Flesh 3:19
  • 11 Megalynarion For Christmas 1:48
  • 12 Ikos Six, From The Akáthistos Hymn 2:22
  • 13 Kontakion Of The Mother Of God 4:06
  • 14 O Tebe Raduyetsya 3:59
  • 15 What Shall We Call You 2:04
  • 16 Cherubic Hymn (In Greek, Mode Plagal IV) 5:45